Seeds of Darkness

I didn’t try and find a way to deal with it. I lived in my pain for a long time, not trying to move on. I let the pain consume me and ruin me. It was like a vast, cloudy dream from which there was no escape. It was a long time before I finally started to wake up, before I started to make changes and move on with my life. Sometimes even now I still feel trapped, like I’m back in that place. But I’m not. I’m not that person anymore. I’m stronger now, tougher, more resilient. That part of my life was dark and miserable, but it moulded me, made me the person I am today. Now I am thankful to those days of darkness because they have given me a strength that I couldn’t have gained on my own. They gave me the seeds I needed to create my own happiness and now my life has never been better. I am grateful to the pain, for it created me.

© Copyright Alexandra Brown, 25/08/13.

Leave a Reply

